2019 Grammy award winners: Live updates

The 61st annual Grammy awards are tonight, hosted by Alicia Keys. The Rival GW will be LIVE tonight, updating the award winners here as they’re announced (listed in order as they are presented on the show, not which ones we think are most important). A noticeable absence tonight will be 21 Savage, who has two nominations and was scheduled to perform with Post Malone, as 21 is reportedly still in immigration holding after his arrest by ICE for overstaying his visa when he was 13.

Last year, one of our writers gave an analysis that the GRAMMYs played it safe, with very view awards going to women, people of color, or songs covering current issues, instead going to less controversial songs, such as Bruno Mars’ “24K Magic” or Ed Sheeran’s “Shape of You.” Let’s see if tonight is a little more diverse:

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance

  • “Shallow” - Lady Gaga & Bradley Cooper (WINNER)

  • “Fall In Line” - Christina Aguilera ft. Demi Lovato

  • "Don't Go Breaking My Heart" - Backstreet Boys

  • “‘S Wonderful” - Tony Bennett & Diana Krall

  • “Girls Like You” - Maroon 5 ft. Cardi B

  • “Say Something” - Justin Timberlake ft. Chris Stapleton

  • “The Middle” -  Zedd, Maren Morris, & Grey

Song of the Year

  • “This Is America” - Childish Gambino. Songwriters: Donald Glover & Ludwig Goransson (WINNER)

  • “All The Stars” - Kendrick Lamar & SZA. Songwriters: Kendrick Duckworth, Solána Rowe, Al Shuckburgh, Mark Spears, & Anthony Tiffith

  • “Boo’d Up” - Ella Mai. Songwriters: Larrance Dopson, Joelle James, Ella Mai, & Dijon McFarlane

  • “God’s Plan” - Drake. Songwriters: Aubrey Graham, Daveon Jackson, Brock Korsan, Ron LaTour, Matthew Samuels, & Noah Shebib

  • “In My Blood” - Shawn Mendes. Songwriters: Teddy Geiger, Scott Harris, Shawn Mendes, & Geoffrey Warburton

  • “The Joke” - Brandi Carlile. Songwriters: Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth, & Tim Hanseroth

  • “The Middle” - Zedd, Maren Morris, & Grey. Songwriters: Sarah Aarons, Jordan K. Johnson, Stefan Johnson, Marcus Lomax, Kyle Trewartha, Michael Trewartha, & Anton Zaslavski

  • “Shallow” - Lady Gaga & Bradley Cooper. Songwriters: Lady Gaga, Mark Ronson, Anthony Rossomando, & Andrew Wyatt

Best Country Album

  • “Golden Hour” - Kacey Musgraves (WINNER)

  •  “Unapologetically” - Kelsea Ballerini

  • “Port Saint Joe” - Brothers Osborne

  • “Girl Going Nowhere” - Ashley McBryde

  • “From A Room: Volume 2” - Chris Stapleton

Best Rap Song

  • "God's Plan" - Drake. Songwriters: Graham, Daveon Jackson, Brock Korsan, Ron LaTour, Matthew Samuels, & Noah Shebib (WINNER)

  • "King's Dead" - Kendrick Lamar, Jay Rock, Future, & James Blake. Songwriters: Kendrick Duckworth, Samuel Gloade, James Litherland, Johnny McKinzie, Mark Spears, Travis Walton, Nayvadius Wilburn, & Michael Williams II

  • "Lucky You" - Eminem ft. Joyner Lucas. Songwriters: R. Fraser, G. Lucas, M. Mathers, M. Samuels & J. Sweet

  • "Sicko Mode"- Travis Scott, Drake, Big Hawk, & Swae Lee. Songwriters: Khalif Brown, Rogét Chahayed, BryTavious Chambers, Mike Dean, Mirsad Dervic, Kevin Gomringer, Tim Gomringer, Aubrey Graham, John Edward Hawkins, Chauncey Hollis, Jacques Webster, Ozan Yildirim, & Cydel Young

  • "Win" - Jay Rock. Songwriters: K. Duckworth, A. Hernandez, J. McKinzie, M. Samuels, & C. Thompson

Best R&B Album

  • “H.E.R.” - H.E.R. (WINNER)

  • “Sex & Cigarettes” - Toni Braxton

  • “Good Thing” - Leon Bridges

  • “Honestly - Lalah Hathaway

  • “Gumbo Unplugged (Live)” - PJ Morton

Best Rap Album

  • “Invasion Of Privacy” - Cardi B (WINNER)

  • “Swimming” - Mac Miller

  • “Victory Lap” - Nipsey Hussle

  • “Daytona” - Pusha T

  • “Astroworld” - Travis Scott

Best New Artist

  • Dua Lipa (WINNER)

  • Chloe x Halle

  • Luke Combs

  • Greta Van Fleet

  • H.E.R.

  • Margo Price

  • Bebe Rexha

  • Jorja Smith

Record of the Year

  • “This is America” - Childish Gambino (WINNER)

  • “I Like It” - Cardi B, Bad Bunny, & J Balvin

  • “The Joke” - Brandi Carlile

  • “God’s Plan” - Drake

  • “Shallow” - Lady Gaga & Bradley Cooper

  • “All The Stars” - Kendrick Lamar & SZA

  • “Rockstar” - Post Malone ft. 21 Savage

Album of the Year

  • “Golden Hour” - Kacey Musgraves (WINNER)

  • “Invasion of Privacy” - Cardi B“

  • “By The Way, I Forgive You” - Brandi Carlile

  • “Scorpion” - Drake

  • “H.E.R.” - H.E.R.

  • “Beerbongs & Bentleys” - Post Malone

  • “Dirty Computer” - Janelle Monáe

  • “Black Panther: The Album, Music From And Inspired By” - Various artists

Untelevised Winners

Even big names get left out of the show sometimes. Here are some of the winners announced earlier today:

  • Best Pop Vocal Album: “Sweetner” - Ariana Grande

  • Best Pop Solo Performance: "Joanne (Where Do You Think You're Goin'?)" - Lady Gaga

  • Best Rock Album: “From the Fires” - Greta Van Fleet

  • Best Urban Contemporary Album: “Everything Is Love” - The Carters

  • Best Music Video: “This Is America” - Childish Gambino

  • Best Comedy Album: “Equanimity & the Bird Revelation” - Dave Chappelle

  • Best Country Song: "Space Cowboy" - Kacey Musgraves. Songwriters: Luke Laird, Shane McAnally, & Kacey Musgraves

  • Best Dance Recording: “Electricity” - Silk City & Dua Lipa ft. Diplo & Mark Ronson

  • Best R&B Song: "Boo'd Up" - Ella Mai. Songwriters: Larrance Dopson, Joelle James, Ella Mai, & Dijon McFarlane

CultureEmily Milakovic